top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLuminary Starr

Memorial Day?

May 28, 2018


Ever wondered about this holiday?


Memorial Day is observed on the last Monday of May. It was formerly known as Decoration Day and commemorates all men and women who have died in military service for the United States. Many people visit cemeteries and memorials on Memorial Day and it is traditionally seen as the start of the summer season.


Memorial Day started as an event to honor Union soldiers who had died during the American Civil War. It was inspired by the way people in the Southern states honored their dead. After World War I, it was extended to include all men and women who died in any war or military action.


Decoration Day and then Memorial Day used to be held on May 30, regardless of the day of the week, on which it fell. In 1968, the Uniform Holidays Bill was passed as part of a move to use federal holidays to create three-day weekends.


I, myself, never lost any family from any wars. I, myself, am a veteran, so while Memorial Day doesn't, directly, apply to me (and I'm glad it didn't, or else I would be writing this!), it is nice to remember those who died, fighting for the ideals of a better America. Let's always do our best to Make America Great, Always!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Child Abuse And No One Cares

First, let me say that this has already been sent to The Omaha FBI Violent Crimes Against Children Program, CPS (twice), our state senator, the Governor & Lt. Governor's offices, DHHS + their Civil Ri

Codes and Financing

Consider this a sort of follow up to "The Truth They Hide." ATM, this is just some theories, but leaving it up, for maybe some help to flesh out for others to help develop. Also, note this is from upc

AI or Skynet

I've been trying my hands with various "AI," or "machine learning." One of the first was from You.com, and has been a decent source. Not perfect, by any stretch of the imagination, but that holds for

bottom of page